The Smile Announce Debut Album ‘A Light For Attracting Attention’


Radiohead offshoot The Smile have announced their debut album, A Light For Attracting Attention, will be released digitally on May 13 and in physical formats on June 17.

The 13-track album, which was produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig, features strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra, plus a full brass section of U.K. jazz musicians.

The trio of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and Tom Skinner also shared a new single from the upcoming album, “Free in the Knowledge,” and an accompanying music video.

The Smile announced that the album can be pre-ordered at

“I feel grateful that we managed, with Nigel’s help, to record these songs in a way they deserve,” Greenwood said in a statement. “And the singles released so far have been liked – as far as I can tell – which makes me feel dangerously confident in the rest of the record.”

“As the all-knowing algorithm has it, If you liked that, you’ll love this, right? Hope so. Aside from anything, the brass and strings players who helped out – I really can’t wait for you to hear all their work too,” added the Smile guitarist.

A Light for Attracting Attention Track Listing:

1. “The Same”2. “The Opposite”3. “You Will Never Work in Television Again”4. “Pana-vision”5. “The Smoke”6. “Speech Bubbles”7. “Thin Thing”8. “Open the Floodgates”9. “Free in the Knowledge”10. “A Hairdryer”11. “Waving a White Flag”12. “We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings”13. “Skrting on the Surface”

(Photo: Alex Lake)

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 All Rights Reserved


Now Playing