Gord Downie’s ‘Coke Machine Glow’ To Be Reissued For 20th Anniversary


Gord Downie‘s first solo album, Coke Machine Glow, is set to see a special expanded reissue on August 27 via Arts & Crafts, marking the record’s 20th anniversary.

The triple album, titled Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal, will feature the original two-disc set plus a bonus record of twelve unreleased demos, alternate versions, and never-before-heard outtakes carefully curated by Gord’s friend Josh Finlayson and brother Patrick Downie with Arts & Crafts’ Jonathan Shedletzky.

The 28-song collection includes elegant alternate studio takes of classics like “Vancouver Divorce” and “Lofty Pines.” Along with the album, a songbook for voice, guitar, and piano for the album’s music is also being released.

Downie released the 16-track Coke Machine Glow in 2001, in between Music @ Work (2000) and In Violet Light (2002), the ninth and tenth albums by his mighty band of brothers in The Tragically Hip.

Downie died in 2017 after being diagnosed with terminal brain cancer.

Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal Tracklist:

Coke Machine Glow:

1. “Starpainters”2. “Vancouver Divorce”3. “SF Song”4. “Trick Rider”5. “Canada Geese”6. “Chancellor”7. “The Never-Ending Present”8. “Nothing But Heartache in Your Social Life”9. “Blackflies”10. “Lofty Pines”11. “Boy Bruised By Butterfly Chase”12. “Mystery”13. “Elaborate”14. Yer Possessed15. “Every Irrelevance”16. “Insomniacs of the World, Good Night”

Songwriters’ Cabal:

1. “Vancouver Divorce” – Alternate Take2. “Trick Rider” – Demo3. “SF Song” – Demo4. “Contact” – Demo5. “Down Down Down” – Demo6. “Putting Down” – Demo7. “Chancellor” – Demo8. “The Never-Ending Present” – Demo9. “I Stand Before the Songwriters’ Cabal” – Outtake10. “Contact” – Outtake11. “Mystery” – Alternate Take12. “Lofty Pines” – Alternate Take

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2021 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved


Now Playing